Who is Buddha for Buddhists?

Who is Buddha for Buddhists?

Buddhists consider Buddha as the founder of Buddhism and a being of great wisdom and compassion. They revere him as a spiritual guide and an example to follow. Buddha, whose name means “the Awakened One”, was a prince born in India more than 2500 years ago. He left his life of luxury and privilege to seek truth and liberation from human suffering. After years of meditation and contemplation, he achieved enlightenment under the Bodhi tree.

The teachings of Buddha, known as Dharma, are based on one's own experiences and perceptions of reality. He expounded the Four Noble Truths and the Noble Eightfold Path, which are considered the foundations of Buddhist practice.

The enlightenment of Buddha

Buddha achieved enlightenment after meditating for years under the Bodhi tree. He understood the nature of reality and realized the true nature of human existence. He also understood the cycle of rebirth and the law of karma, which states that our actions have consequences.

This realization led Buddha to develop a philosophy based on compassion, benevolence and detachment from earthly desires. He taught that the key to happiness and freedom from suffering is to develop good conduct, wisdom and meditation.

The Four Noble Truths

The Four Noble Truths are at the heart of the teaching of Buddha. They are as follows:

  1. The truth of suffering: life is suffering and dissatisfaction.
  2. The truth of the origin of suffering: suffering is caused by desire and attachment.
  3. The Truth of Cessation of Suffering: Suffering can be overcome by getting rid of desire and attachment.
  4. The truth of the path leading to the cessation of suffering: the Noble Eightfold Path is the path to overcome suffering.

The Four Noble Truths are considered a profound analysis of the reality of life and human suffering. They provide a guide to overcoming suffering and achieving enlightenment.

The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path is the path proposed by Buddha to achieve freedom from suffering. It includes the following eight aspects:

  1. The right understanding
  2. The right thought
  3. The right word
  4. Right action
  5. Right livelihood
  6. The right effort
  7. The right attention
  8. The right concentration

The Noble Eightfold Path represents a balanced and moral way of life, based on a deep understanding of reality. By following this path, Buddhists seek to develop wisdom, meditation and ethical conduct.

The teachings of Buddha on compassion

A central aspect of teaching Buddha is compassion towards all living beings. Buddha taught that compassion is an essential quality to cultivate in order to achieve enlightenment. He encouraged his followers to practice kindness, compassion, empathetic joy, and equanimity.

Buddha taught that all life forms are interconnected and that the suffering of one affects the suffering of others. He encouraged his followers to develop a selfless spirit and work for the welfare of all living beings. Compassion is seen as an antidote to selfishness and attachment, and a key to achieving enlightenment.

The practice of meditation

Buddha also taught the importance of meditation in Buddhist practice. Meditation is considered a way to cultivate attention, concentration and mental clarity. It allows you to develop a deep understanding of yourself and reality.

Meditation can take different forms, such as sitting meditation, walking meditation or moving meditation. It involves focusing on the present moment, observing your thoughts and emotions without judgment, and cultivating positive mental states.

Meditation is practiced by Buddhists around the world as a way to connect with their inner mind, develop wisdom, and cultivate compassion.


Buddha is a central figure for Buddhists. He is considered the founder of Buddhism and a spiritual guide of great wisdom and compassion. His teachings on the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, compassion and meditation are at the heart of Buddhist practice. By following the teachings of BuddhaBuddhists seek to achieve enlightenment and overcome human suffering.

Similar Posts