does Europe have Christian roots?  7 candidates respond to us

How to vote? When ? Who shows up? All the questions you have about the European elections

What are the European elections?

The European elections allow the 27 member countries of the European Union to elect the 720 MEPs who will sit in the European Parliament. Within the latter, France has 81 seats. The French can thus choose their representatives in Brussels. They will be the 10th since their establishment in 1979. The European Parliament is, with the European Commission, one of the two legislative bodies of the European Union (EU).

What is the role of MEPs in the European Parliament?

Elected for 5 years, MEPs sit in the European Parliament based in Strasbourg and Brussels (Belgium). They can amend and vote on legislative proposals from the European Commission, in close collaboration with the Council of the EU, made up of ministers from the 27 member states. Without their agreement, a European law cannot be adopted.

In addition to legislative missions, MEPs participate each year in drawing up the EU budget. They also exercise a supervisory role with the European Commission, the executive body of the EU, of which they are responsible for electing the president. Finally, they benefit from veto power over certain major European decisions, such as the accession of a new member.

MEPs do not meet by country, but by transnational political groups, today numbering seven, distributed according to different political colors and ideologies.

When do the European elections take place?

The European elections are being held from Thursday June 6 to Sunday June 9 in the 27 member states. Some citizens will be able to vote on Thursday June 6, this is the case for example in the Netherlands, while others will do so on Friday June 7, as in Ireland or on Sunday June 9.

In France, they will take place on Sunday June 9, even if with the time difference, overseas territories such as Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Barthélémy, Saint-Martin, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Guyana or French Polynesia, as well as French people established in America will be able to vote the day before. These elections are held every five years.

Where do you vote for the European elections in France?

If you are a French or European citizen voting in France, each voter is called to the polling station whose address is written on their electoral card. You can also find your polling station on the Check your electoral situation website. On June 9, polling stations will generally be located in the town hall or a public building in the municipality. To be able to vote, you must be registered on the electoral list of your municipality. A step that had to be done before May 3, 2024.

Who are the candidates for the next European elections?

On June 9, the French will have to choose from 38 lists, ranging from the extreme left to the extreme right, including the centrists. These lists are all made up of 81 personalities wishing to become the next French MEPs in Brussels and Strasbourg (in the order of display on the electoral panels drawn at random):

1 – Citizen change: Léopold-Edouard Deher-Lesaint.

2 – Let's decide for ourselves!: Philippe Ponge.

3 – Proud France! / Reconquest!: Marion Maréchal.

4 – Insoumise France: Manon Aubry.

5 – France is coming back! / National gathering: Jordan Bardella.

6 – Europe ecology / Ecologists: Marie Toussaint.

7 – Union of French Muslim Democrats: Nagib Azergui.

8 – Animalist party: Hélène Thouy.

9 – Revolutionary Party – Communists: Olivier Terrien.

10 – Pirate Party: Caroline Zorn.

11 – Need for Europe / Renaissance: Valérie Hayer.

12 – European Citizens Party: Audric Alexandre.

13 – Equinox: Marine Cholley.

14 – Positive ecology and territories: Yann Wehrling.

15 – Republican Popular Union: François Asselineau.

16 – Peace and decline: Michel Simonin.

17 – Citizens’ Federation: Jean-Marc Fortané.

18 – The Republicans: François-Xavier Bellamy.

19 – Workers’ struggle: Nathalie Arthaud.

20 – New deal: Pierre Larrouturou.

21 – We the people: Georges Kuzmanovic.

22 – New anti-capitalist party – Revolutionaries: Selma Labib.

23 – Workers' Party: Camille Adoue.

24 – The Patriots: Florian Philippot.

25 – Stay free: Édouard Husson.

26 – Nationalists: Pierre-Marie Bonneau.

27 – Awaken Europe / Public Square – Socialist Party: Raphaël Glucksmann.

28 – National Association of Communists: Charles Hoareau.

29 – Rural Alliance: Jean Lassalle.

30 – Free France: Francis Lalanne.

31 – Europe territories ecology: Guillaume Lacroix.

32 – The citizen hive: Lorys Elmayan

33 – French Communist Party: Léon Deffontaines.

34 – Defend children: Gaël Coste-Meunier.

35 – Ecology at the center: Jean-Marc Governatori.

36 – Representative democracy: Hadama Traoré.

37 – Europe democracy Esperanto: Laure Patas d’Illiers.

38 – French democratic freedom: Patrice Grudé.

Similar Posts